About

Lisa Thompson is For the People.

Lisa was first elected to Queen’s Park in October, 2011, re-elected in June, 2014, and she was elected for a third term in June, 2018 by more than 50% of the vote in Huron-Bruce, as part of the Ontario PC government.

She was appointed by Premier Doug Ford to Cabinet and currently serves as Minister of Government and Consumer Services and Registrar General. She also sits on the Legislation and Regulations Committee, and the Economic and Resource Policy Committee. Additional to her parliamentary roles, Lisa serves as Vice Chair for Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians—Canada Region.

Another responsibility Lisa does not take lightly as a MPP is to ensure rural Ontario and the agri-food sector are well represented.

Lisa was born and raised near Wingham in Huron County, but calls Bruce County home as she lives near Teeswater on a farm that has been in her husband’s family for 119 years. Lisa is a graduate of the University of Guelph and is also a proud alumnus of Class 6 of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program and the George Morris Executive Leadership Program.

Before entering into politics, Lisa served as the General Manager of the Ontario Dairy Goat Cooperative (ODGC). Lisa successfully negotiated the amalgamation of two organizations in 2005, which allowed the ODGC to evolve from a regional operation into a provincial cooperative. After six years with the ODGC, Lisa grew the cooperative into a multi-million dollar business venture.

Lisa has a long history of being an active and engaged citizen, working with many community and agricultural organizations. She has served as an Ontario 4-H Foundation Chair of the Board; and as Vice-chair of Ontario Agri-Food Education Inc.

About the Riding

Huron-Bruce is made up of the following communities:

huron-bruce

Township of Ashfield-Colbourne-Wawanosh: http://www.acwtownship.ca/

Municipality of Bluewater: https://www.municipalityofbluewater.ca/Public/Home.aspx

Municipality of Brockton: https://www.brockton.ca/en/index.aspx

Municipality of Central Huron: http://www.centralhuron.com/

Town of Goderich: https://www.goderich.ca/en/index.aspx

Township of Howick: https://howick.ca/

Municipality of Huron East: https://www.huroneast.com/

Township of Huron-Kinloss: https://www.huronkinloss.com/

Municipality of Kincardine: https://www.kincardine.ca/en/index.aspx

Municipality of Morris-Turnberry: http://www.morristurnberry.ca/

Township of North Huron: http://www.northhuron.ca/

Town of Saugeen Shores: https://www.saugeenshores.ca/en/index.aspx

Municipality of South Bruce: http://www.town.southbruce.on.ca/

Municipality of South Huron: https://www.southhuron.ca/en/index.aspx

Bruce County: https://brucecounty.on.ca/

Huron County: https://www.huroncounty.ca/