About

Lisa Thompson is For the People.

Lisa was first elected to Queen’s Park in October, 2011, re-elected in June, 2014, and she was elected for a third term in June, 2018 by more than 50% of the vote in Huron-Bruce, as part of the Ontario PC government.

On June 18, 2021, Lisa was proudly appointed Ontario’s 40th Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs by Premier Doug Ford. Prior to being Agriculture Minister, Lisa served as Minister of Government and Consumer Services, Ontario’s Registrar General and Minister of Education. Additional to her parliamentary roles, Lisa is honoured to represent Ontario as Chair for Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians—Canada Region.

Lisa was born and raised near Wingham in Huron County, but now calls Bruce County home as she lives near Teeswater on a farm that has been in her husband’s family for 120 years. Lisa is a graduate of the University of Guelph and is also an alumnus of Class 6 of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program and the George Morris Executive Leadership Program. Before entering into politics, Lisa served as the General Manager of the Ontario Dairy Goat Cooperative (ODGC). 

Lisa has a long history of being an active and engaged citizen, working with many community organizations. She is a past Chair of the Ontario 4-H Foundation and also served as Vice-chair of Ontario Agri-Food Education Inc. (now known as Agscape).

About the Riding

Huron-Bruce is made up of the following communities:

huron-bruce

Township of Ashfield-Colbourne-Wawanosh: http://www.acwtownship.ca/

Municipality of Bluewater: https://www.municipalityofbluewater.ca/Public/Home.aspx

Municipality of Brockton: https://www.brockton.ca/en/index.aspx

Municipality of Central Huron: http://www.centralhuron.com/

Town of Goderich: https://www.goderich.ca/en/index.aspx

Township of Howick: https://howick.ca/

Municipality of Huron East: https://www.huroneast.com/

Township of Huron-Kinloss: https://www.huronkinloss.com/

Municipality of Kincardine: https://www.kincardine.ca/en/index.aspx

Municipality of Morris-Turnberry: http://www.morristurnberry.ca/

Township of North Huron: http://www.northhuron.ca/

Town of Saugeen Shores: https://www.saugeenshores.ca/en/index.aspx

Municipality of South Bruce: http://www.town.southbruce.on.ca/

Municipality of South Huron: https://www.southhuron.ca/en/index.aspx

Bruce County: https://brucecounty.on.ca/

Huron County: https://www.huroncounty.ca/