Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson to Host 8th Annual Remarkable Citizens Awards Ceremony in Teeswater

Published on November 20, 2019

For immediate release:                              

October 28, 2019

[KINCARDINE] — Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson is pleased to invite people throughout the riding to nominate and recognize the remarkable dedication and volunteer work done by local citizens.

The 8th Annual Remarkable Citizens Awards evening will be hosted by Thompson during her annual New Year's Levee event, which will take place at the Teeswater Town Hall at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, January 8, 2020 (if necessary, the snow date will be January 15, 2020).

Each year, Remarkable Citizens Awards are handed out to respected and dedicated community leaders, volunteers, and residents who have made a positive impact within the riding of Huron-Bruce. To date, 138 remarkable citizens have been recognized.

"Volunteers are the lifeblood of every community, and I have been blessed with the opportunity to meet so many across the riding,” Thompson said. “It never ceases to amaze me how dedicated these special people are. They help make their communities better in so many different and impactful ways and I look forward to honouring even more citizens from our riding this year."

To nominate someone, describe in approximately 250 words, the person’s contributions to the community and why you feel they are deserving, and send it to [email protected] Also include two pictures of the nominee.

Nominations can also be mailed or dropped off at either constituency office: Blyth (408 Queen St. PO Box 426, N0M 1H0) or Kincardine (807 Queen St. Unit 3, PO Box 834 N2Z 2Y2). 

Nomination deadline is 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 6, 2019. For more information, contact Diane Foxton at 519-396-3007.

“There's no better way to kick of the new year than recognizing remarkable people who are making a difference in our communities," Thompson said.



Contact:  Diane Foxton 519-396-3007